Search This Blog

Saturday, 14 July 2012

2013 Hippocrates Awards for poetry and medicine launched at Lichfield Festival

The 2013 Hippocrates Prize for poetry & medicine was launched on 12th July at the Lichfield Festival

Entries are now open for the 2013 Hippocrates Prize for poetry and medicine, which is for unpublished poems in English of up to 50 lines text, excluding title and line spacing.  Awards will be presented at an international symposium for poetry and medicine to be held on Saturday 18th May, 2013 at the Wellcome Collection rooms in London.

2011 Open winner Michael Henry, 2012 Commended poet Tricia Torrington, 2010 and 2011 NHS winner Wendy French, Jenny Arthur and Donald Singer at Lichfield Festival launch of 2013 Hippocrates Awards

The Hippocrates Awards
With a 1st prize for the winning poem in each category of £5,000, the Hippocrates prize is one of the highest value poetry awards in the world for a single poem. In its first 3 years, the Hippocrates Prize has attracted around 4000 entries from 44 countries, from the Americas to Fiji and Finland to Australasia. Awards are in an Open category, which anyone in the world may enter, and an NHS category, which is open to UK National Health Service employees, health students and those working in professional organisations involved in education and training of NHS students and staff. Co-organizers are medical professor Donald Singer and poet and translator Michael Hulse. 
 The Hippocrates poetry and medicine initiative received  the Award for Excellence and Innovation in the Arts in the 2011 Times Higher Education awards. This award aims to recognise the collaborative and interdisciplinary work that is taking place in universities to promote the arts. Entries were open to teams and all higher education institutions in the UK. Major support for the Hippocrates initiative has come from the Fellowship of Postgraduate Medicine, with additional support from the Wellcome Trust, the Cardiovascular Research Trust, Heads, Teachers and Industry and the University Warwick's Institute of Advanced Study
2013 Hippocrates Prize judges: Roger Highfield, Jo Shapcott and Theodore Dalrymple
The judges for the 2013 Hippocrates Prize are Jo Shapcott, winner of the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry, science writer and Science Museum Group Executuve Roger Highfield and doctor and writer Theodore Dalrymple.

See also 
- International Hippocrates Research Forum for poetry and medicine. This includes poets, academics and health professionals in the UK, Europe and the USA.